Rereading books and the joy it brings

I just reread The Wrath and the Dawn by RenΓ©e Ahdieh and I loved it! I forgot so much of what happened besides really significant moments or a few scenes I remember here and there, however I totally didn’t remember the writing being this amazing and the story-telling so beautiful! I looked back on my Goodreads and read through my review (the first one I did on Goodreads) and I raved about it! I read the book in just two days when I first read it and it’s taken only a few days to read it a second time.

I love rereading books because it transports you back to that world you fell in love with and the writing you enjoyed so much. You get to meet some of your favourite characters again as well just take some time to read something familiar and comforting, knowing you’ll love it just as much as you did the first time.

Also, you don’t realise just how much you forget when you haven’t read that book in a while! I did a reread of the Throne of Glass series before I read Empire of Storms last August and I had totally forgotten so much; I even forgot some of the characters that popped up later on in the series. Rereading means you can fall into that land of magic and experience it all over again. It will never be the same as when you read something for the first time, but rereading brings its own unique kind of joy that’s an echo of an embrace as the story wraps itself around you and brings you back, ready for you to lose yourself in its words and magic.

I don’t reread enough, I tend to only do it when I am about to read a sequel and I want the story to be fresh in my mind so I’m not left wondering how the last book ended or who the characters are. I definitely need to set aside time every few months to do a reread because it’s amazing to revisit the worlds and characters I love so much.

Are there any books you want to reread?

Jo x

Leave a Reply

