Ivory and Bone book review

by Julie Eshbaugh (2016)Β Image result for starImage result for star

Image result for ivory and bone book

Ivory and Bone is a book set in prehistoric times where hunting and making a family is the main focus of the people that live there. Clans have formed and not long ago one such clan separated, bringing revenge to the forefront of one particular person’s mind. Kol is the character through which we hear his voice and see things how he sees them; seventeen and looking for wife, Kol is feeling under pressure.

But then the cold and distant Mya arrives and suddenly Kol’s family’s past is stirred up as he discovers the truth about what happened on one hunting trip. Can Mya ever thaw to the affections of Kol or will the curious Lo capture Kol’s attention? With a pride and prejudice vibe, revenge and relationships bloom but will Kol and his family survive through it all?

β™₯

What started off well with a unique premise and amazing book cover to grab my attention, I had high hopes for this book. It’s set in the voice of Kol and we – the reader – are Mya and Kol talks as if speaking directly to Mya, like he’s telling her a story from his perspective of what happens between them. It begins with Mya asking Kol to tell her a story of the most marvellous day of his life, and the book follows Kol on his story.

With a short introduction into the life of Kol in his clan of hunting and gathering, the scene was set quickly and Mya soon arrived to steer the story on its path. From here on in, things remained quite stagnant with little happening and no progression with the relationship between Kol and Mya.

Lo enters the story and here things start to pick up speed a bit. The story finishes neither well nor bad, but the peoples’ lives are changed forever.

I struggled to pick up IAB and continue with the story – it didn’t captivate me and the most interesting thing that happened was something near the end, leaving me quite bored throughout the whole book. The story just didn’t reel me in and I found myself keen to finish the chapter and put down the book rather than get to the next chapter and read on. Maybe the setting wasn’t for me, but the only thing that kept me going was the pride and prejudice feel – I wanted to see what would happen with Mya and Kol.

Turning the last page, I felt relieved to have finally finished the story but it won’t be one I’ll read again. The writing felt a bit too simple at times (but maybe that was the point since the people are from prehistoric times) and I got confused with the time it was set in when Kol used the example of a drill – I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t know what a drill Β was then? But maybe I got the wrong idea.

I won’t be mentioning spoilers because not much really happened in the book anyway and what did happen, didn’t affect me in any way – it roused no kind of reaction from me. It was good to try something different, but unfortunately it wasn’t my kind of book – I prefer something with a lot more going on and one that grips me rather than leaves me indifferent to it.

Β Not a great book for me, but if you like things set in prehistoric times or want to try something different, then give it a go because it might be for you. Just because a book doesn’t suit one person doesn’t mean it won’t suit another but I’ll always be honest with my views for whether I did or did not enjoy a book.

2 thoughts on “Ivory and Bone book review

Leave a Reply

