Books and hype

Some books are hypedΒ so much pre-release but also after their release when the reviews come flooding in with 4 or 5 stars but what really disappoints me is when the book doesn’t live up to the hype. Is hype good for books and their promotion or not?

I love hype – I get so excited for the release of a book I’m looking forward to or I can’t wait to receive my book in the post after seeing the hype over it and deciding to give in and order it. But sometimes books are hyped too much that when you come to read it, you’re left feeling dissatisfied and maybe a little bit cheated – where was the book everyone was raving about?

Does the hype sometimes set the book in a different light so that you read it already swayed towards thinking about it in a certain way, or is the book actually just not that good for you? When I finish a book that was hyped about a lot and it wasn’t that good, I don’t know whether it’s because it doesn’t live up to the hype or whether it’s been hyped so much that I had expectations that were hard to meet. So is my review and rating actually what I think or how I’ve been led to feel following the disappoint of the book not living up to the hype?

And how do you feel after finishing a book that had so much hype about it when it wasn’t that good? Disappointed? Annoyed? It certainly must be a good thing for a book to have so much hype about it – more sales, more people recommending/reading it as well as the author getting more and more well known. But the hype can also be bad if people are left feeling like it didn’t meet expectations and so they’re more likely to be a bit tougher with their review.

I’ve certainly read books that I was excited to read after all the hype over it and found myself more irritated for wasting my time over something that wasn’t as great as it was made out to be. So does this mean my reviews are a true reflection over the book or is it circumstantial? Reviews and ratings should be taken seriously, but it must be remembered that if you read a book at a different time, the rating could easily be one star more or less.

And what do you do if you’re not enjoying a book that you bought due to the hype – carry on reading? I tend to always give it a good go and I rarely fail to finish a book, but sometimes I know that I won’t read this book again, or indeed get the sequel, so I try to get through to the end since I bought the book.

Hype is both a good and bad thing, but I think it’s more of a good thing than bad. After all, even though I didn’t enjoy the book, I still bought it and read it didn’t I so it’s always good for sales and getting more people reading it.

Which books have you read that didn’t live up to the hype for you, and would you still recommend them even if you didn’t enjoy them?

Leave a Reply

