Top Five Books of 2016 so far

I saw a post the other day on In A Bookish World about her five best books of 2016 so far so I thought I’d do a post too and put my five favourite books!

I have definitely done a lot more reading this year than last and I discovered two amazing authors: S J Maas and V E Schwab so, undoubtedly, their books will feature in my top five but I’ll just include books that were actually released this year for my top five books of 2016 so far:

#5 The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

I’ve just recently finished this and loved it! Full of magic and set in 19th century Imperial Russia, it’s a story of relationships and a fight for survival that leaves you wishing you could magic the sequel into yours straight after.

#4 What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne

The third in the Normal series, Lottie explains her fight for equality and I felt inspired after reading this amazing story of feminism, and the author’s note at the end was beautiful.

#3 This Savage Song by V E Schwab

In three is This Savage Song. Filled with monsters and set in a strange and dark city, this book was gripping to read and I couldn’t put it down! August was an adorable character and it was refreshing to have a book void of romance, and the ending left so many questions! Descriptive and breath-taking world-building, this book did not disappoint.

#2 A Gathering of Shadows by V E Schwab

In number two I had to put this stunning sequel to A Darker Shade of Magic that stepped up its game and ended on such a horrid cliffhanger! With new characters and interesting developments taking place across the four Londons, we see relationships strain and magic at its best.

#1 A Court of Mist and Fury by S J Maas

And in number one is the fantastic ACOMAF! This book had to be in first place – I devoured it in two days and reread it twice straight after because I couldn’t get enough of the Night Court or Rhys! A beautiful sequel sees Feyre discover who she can really trust as she discovers a new threat to Prythian and the Mortal Realms. Magnificent world-building and truly gorgeous characters introduced, this book took the world of Prythian to the next level.

So there you have it – my top five books of 2016 so far. Let me know what you think of these books or what your top five are!

Have a beautiful dayΒ β™₯

5 thoughts on “Top Five Books of 2016 so far

  1. I’ve only read This Savage Song on this list, and I think it would definitely be a close top 5 (doesn’t help I’ve read a gazillion amazing books this year). I’m hoping A Gathering of Shadows will be on my list when I get to that later this month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

