July wrap-up

July was a brilliant month for me, both reading wise and just because I hadΒ no more revision to do or exams and I found out I passed second year at uni! I read NINE books in July which is crazy because I only ever manage to read about three or four πŸ˜€ A lot of my reading this month was for YALC and I managed to read the entire Raven Cycle series as well as the odd stand alone.

So here’s a list of all the books I read in July, in order, with the rating I gave each book:

  1. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen (2014)Β β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯
    Full book review here
    Goodreads description here
  2. This Savage Song by V E Schwab (2016) β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯
    Full book review here
    Goodreads description here
  3. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater (2012)Β β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯
    Full book review here
    Goodreads description here
  4. A Darker Shade of Magic by V E Schwab (2015)Β β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯
    Five reasons to read A Darker Shade of Magic can be found here
    Goodreads description here
  5. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater (2013) β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯
    Full book review here
    Goodreads description here
  6. Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater (2014)Β β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯
    Full book review here
    Goodreads description here
  7. The Raven KingΒ by Maggie Stiefvater (2016)Β β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯
    Full book review here
    Goodreads description here
  8. What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne (2016)Β β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯
    Full book review will be put up soon
    Goodreads description here
  9. Under Rose-tainted SkiesΒ by Louise Gornall (2016)Β β™₯β™₯β™₯β™₯
    Full book review will be put up soon
    Goodreads description here

 

My favourite book I read this month has to be This Savage Song because I absolutely love V E Schwab’s writing and the story was amazing – I also reread A Darker Shade of Magic this month as well since I’m seeing the author on her tour in Birmingham and there’s going to be a quiz so I thought I’d better try and ‘revise’ the story. But I also loved Holly Bourne’s new book What’s A Girl Gotta Do? because I had missed the Spinster club and the book’s theme was feminism which really rekindled my desire for change in society.

My least favourite book this month was probably Blue Lily, Lily Blue because I felt that the story just got a little bit too strange and I didn’t really see the need for this book, other than developing Blue as a character a bit more, the book didn’t really make the story progress much.

I’m glad I finally got round to reading the Raven Cycle series though because it’s been on my TBR for ages and I really liked the characters in the series (Ronan is my fave) and I want to try out some more of Maggie Stiefvater’s writing. Under Rose-tainted Skies was such an insightful read into agoraphobia and I really recommend everyone reads it – mental health is something we should all justΒ talk about more and it shouldn’t be a hushed topic of discussion but something we are all aware of and understand better.

And there you have it! July was a good month for me for reading and not only that, but I had such a good time at YALC (recap post will be put up soon) and I have lots more books to read! I will do an August TBR in the next few days as well.

Have a lovely dayΒ β™₯

 

Leave a Reply

