My Bookish Crate unboxing

My wonderful parents bought me a book subscription box for getting through my exams and passing and I was so thrilled when I saw it waiting on the stairs for me the other day! I recently found out I passed my second year exams at uni and I can’t believe I am going into third year – it’s crazy and scary and nerve-wracking but I’ll be taking my beautiful books with me and maybe it won’t be so hard 🙂

So I got my first ever My Bookish Crate which is a bi-monthly book subscription box based in the UK that has a gorgeous box cover to it (cats and books are my two favourite things) and a cute tagline of ‘all the feels in a box’ which is so true! July’s theme was Magic so I knew it was going to be good because I absolutely love magic and fantasy books – everything in the box was so well thought out to keep in theme with the book and the book is AMAZING!

If you’re avoiding spoilers for the July My Bookish Crate then look away now because here’s my unboxing of this awesome box!

20160725_102044.jpg

This box had a Magic theme to it and came with a beautiful description card of all the items in the box which had a book and magic floating from it – I love this picture and I am so keeping it because it’s exactly what books are – magic!

Items included in the box were:

  • a gorgeous necklace designed by My Clockwork Castle – I absolutely love it and cannot wait to wear it! I love the work from My Clockwork Castle and I was delighted to see one of their pieces in this box,
  • two cute crown pens by The Persnickety Co. which are really in keeping with the theme of the book,
  • a decorative card designed by My Bookish Crate of Moscow Kremlin,
  • and an amazing smelling bathbomb by WitchWoodRemedies that I can’t wait to use.

All these items were picked and designed around the theme of the book and really cleverly constructed – I especially love the necklace and I really want to use the bathbomb pronto!

So on to the book. The book for the July box with the theme of Magic was… The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye!

20160725_101556.jpg

I actually did a little bit of a happy dance when I saw this book in the box because I have heard so many amazing things on the internetsphere about this book and I was even tempted to buy it at one point but I’m so glad I didn’t because I have it now! The book sounds brilliant and it came in a cute little bag with a letter from the author, a signed bookplate and a bookmark designed by My Bookish Crate to keep with the theme of Russia (presumably where the book is set).

There you have it! My unboxing of my first My Bookish Crate box and hopefully not my last! I loved loved LOVED the book that was featured in this month’s box and adored the little bookish items that were included too.

Unfortunately my bank balance says no to any more subscription boxes but I’m hoping I can get one before Christmas because I love getting the surprise of a new release book and bookish items! Book subscription boxes are awesome and totally worth it if you can convince someone to get you one as a treat 🙂

Leave a Reply

