Bookshelf tour

Welcome to my bookshelf tour! I thought I’d do a post on my bookshelf and list all the books I currently own (which isn’t actually that many). This bookshelf has been in our house for years and years and finally when my sister moved out, I got her room and the bookshelf! Before then my books had been living in my wardrobe and I wasn’t really that big into reading, because I had no where to store my books if I bought any, so I just had the main craze books like Twilight, The Hunger Games and Divergent.

But now I have my own little bookshelf, my collection grew and it’s actually at the point now where I need a larger bookshelf because (as you’ll see) I’ve had to play Tetris just to fit these books on! My books/shelves aren’t in any real order, I’ve just put books where they’ll fit and kept the author’s work together as much as possible.

So without further ado, here is a tour of my bookshelf starting from the bottom:

20160710_105123.jpg

The books on the bottom of my bookshelf are mainly ones I’ve had for a while and are dystopian sort of books (but each bookshelf is just a random collection of books that would fit on the shelf!) with the odd stand alone.

Book here include:
– The Hunger Games/Catching Fire/Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
– The Maze Runner/The Scorch Trials/The Death Cure/The Kill Order by James Dashner
– Cinder/Scarlet/Cress/Winter by Marissa Meyer
– The Girl On the Train by Paula Hawkins
– The Darkest Minds/Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken
– Divergent/Insurgent/Allegiant by Veronica Roth
– Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief/Percy JacksonΒ and the Titan’s Curse/Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth/Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian by Rick Riordan
– Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman
– The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

20160710_105059

And just the to left of my bottom bookshelf (wouldn’t fit on the the camera because my bed is in the way!) are:
– Twilight/New Moon/The Short Life of Bree Tanner/Eclipse/Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer
– Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton
– Martha in the Mirror by Justin Richards
– Stars Above/Fairest by Marissa Meyer
– Ruined by Amy Tintera
– Four by Veronica Roth (not read yet)
– Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Now on to my middle shelf which is a bit more logical in the theme of books on this shelf – there’s contemporary, a couple of dystopian and a few biographies:

20160710_105204.jpg

Books going from left to right are:
– Fangirl/Carry On/Attachments/Eleanor and Park/Fangirl/Landline by Rainbow Rowell
– Finding Sky/Stealing Phoenix/Seeking Crystal/Misty Falls/Angel Dares by Joss Stirling
– The Shadow Queen by C J Redwine
– A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall
– Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell
– Shadow and Bone/Siege and Storm/Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
– Dragon Keeper by Robin Hobb (not read yet)
– Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
– Legend/Prodigy/Champion by Marie Lu (not read yet)
– Soulmates by Holly Bourne
– Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie
– Cleo by Helen Brown
– A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen
– Oscar the Bionic Cat by Kate Allan
– Vet On Call by Marc Abraham
– The Martian by Andy Weir
– The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
– The Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke
– Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowski
– My True Love Gave To Me by multiple authors
– The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
– Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Also on this shelf are some bookmarks – I have some Disney princess magnetic bookmarks from TheStickerAlley, bookmarks from the Book Depository, a Ruined bookmark and a Frostblood bookmark I got in a Fairyloot box and a little book dragon I ordered from ApolloDesigns.

On to the top shelf now!

20160710_104817.jpg

This is my favourite shelf because I purposefully put a selection of my favourite books on here that would fit. Going from left to right are:
– the Harry Potter books (do I even need to list them?)
– A Darker Shade of Magic/A Gathering of Shadows by V E Schwab
– The Assassin’s Blade/Throne of Glass/Crown of Midnight/Heir of Fire/Queen of Shadows/A Court of Thorns and Roses/A Court of Mist and Fury by S J Maas
– Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
– The Manifesto on How to Be Interesting/Am I Normal Yet?/How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

Other little bookish things on here are three bookmarks from BehindThePages – A Darker Shade of Magic, ACOTAR and ACOMAF as well as my unique hashtag card from this month’s Fairyloot box (#fairylootdiamond).

Now I’ve just got the top of the bookshelf to go, a spillover of books that can’t fit anywhere else in the actual bookshelves and most of them are on my TBR.

20160710_104806.jpg

From the bottom to the top, going left to right are:
– Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
– Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee (not read yet)
– Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen (not read yet)
– Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (not read yet)
– Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins
– The Wrath and the Dawn/The Rose and the Dagger by RenΓ©e Ahdieh (not read TRATD yet)
– Love Fortunes and other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius (not read yet)
– In The Blood/The Legends of River Song by Jenny T Colgan (not read yet)
– Frostblood by Elly Blake (not read yet)
– Inherited by Freedom Matthews (not read yet)
– This Savage Song by V E Schwab

The top of my bookshelf also contains some little decorative pieces so I have a metal Wall-E figurine that I bought at the German Market in Birmingham years ago, an Eve mug and a Wall-E concept art mug, a Defence Against the Dark Arts metal wall sign from the Harry Potter shop in Kings Cross and two Fairyloot art designs tucked at the back as well as a new colouring-in bookmark from BehindThePage.

I also have a little Nutella jar with my nickname on that my sister got me for Christmas. Inside I have written some of the good things that have happened to me during the year so at the end of 2016, I will read through them and be reminded of all the good stuff that happened in the year, since we have a tendency to remember the bad stuff and forget the good stuff πŸ™‚

Phew! So there you have it, all my books and a little tour of my bookshelf. It’s not a large collection, but one that is continuing to grow and I love all my bookish trinkets and bookmarks – I think they really add to the character of a bookshelf.

I hope you enjoyed this bookshelf tour! Let me know if any of these books are your favourites or you feel my collection is lacking in something and let me know what it is!

Have an absolutely fantastic day πŸ“š

Leave a Reply

