July Fairyloot

Today is a brilliant day because my July Fairyloot box arrived! Your what, sorry? My Fairyloot box!

Fairyloot is a book subscription box based in London which sends you a box containing a new release YA book (mainly fantasy, but they announce the theme beforehand) and some bookish goodies. I’ve been admiring book subscription boxes for ages, but they all seemed to be from the US so when I found this UK-based one, I obviously bought one! I received the May box (High Fantasy theme) and it was a really fun experience so when I found out that the July box would contain TWO books, I couldn’t resist and avoided looking at my bank balance for a little while…

You can find out more about Fairyloot on this link:Β http://www.fairyloot.com/ and I highly recommend this book subscription box – you definitely get your money’s worth because they send amazing stuff and are always coming up with special treats and surprises!

One such surprise in this month’s box was that it contained an ARC (advanced reader’s copy) and I was so excited because I’d never had an ARC before! They always release some teasers before the box is sent out, like the box’s theme and some suppliers for the bookish items in the box so you have some idea of what they will send you and it allows you to gauge whether you would like the box or not (but to be honest, it never disappoints).

So here it is, my first unboxing and I couldn’t have chosen a better box to begin with!

July’s theme was ‘Pirates and Power’ (just FYI, I am currently listening to the soundtrack of Pirates of the Caribbean whilst writing this!) and, as I said, contained two books. The box has a beautiful black and white design with a quote from Neil Gaiman on the side. Also, the theme that is released beforehand comes with a gorgeous picture which is featured on the description of the items in the box and the first thing you see when you open the box.

What you find next is a load of purple paper bookworms but in amongst them are some bookish items and there were so many in this box! They tend to stick to the theme so there were quite a few piratey items, as well as a couple related to the ARC book, but they can be anything book related.

Items contained in this month’s box:

  • a Funko Game of Thrones keyring and I got Jon Snow (two were sent out, one representing ice (Snow) and the other fire (Daenerys))
  • an exclusive bathbomb by Geeky Clean called Frostblood and Fireblood – I can’t wait to use this while reading the amazing ARC!
  • an exclusive lip balm also by Geeky Clean called Pirate Bounty and it has an amazing fragrance of coconuts πŸ™‚
  • a black tote bag with a creative design by Alice in Wonderbookland of a ship and underneath it reads ‘I ship it!’ – pun intended πŸ˜‰
  • a lovely gold foil notebook from Museum and Galleries – I received the Treasure Island design
  • a new bookmark from Behind the Pages (love her bookmarks) which is a colouring-in bookmark with the words ‘currently reading’ across it

I love all the items in this box but I have to say my favourite is probably the lip balm just because I love lip balms πŸ™‚

Now on to the books! (Plural!!!) So the first book I came across in the box was the ARC and it was one I had heard of before, intriguing and on my mental TBR list. This ARC was the ‘power’ part of the theme.

The book was… FROSTBLOOD!

20160706_124315.jpg

IT’S SO BEAUTIFUL I cannot waiiiiiit to read this! Frostblood, by Elly Blake, is going to be officially released in January 2017 but two ARC editions were sent out in the boxes – Frost and Fire and as you can see, I got Frost. It also came with a bookmark that has both designs on it and the book is about the two types of people, the firebloods and the frostbloods who are at war with each other.Β Everything about this book is just screaming READ ME – I can tell I’m going to love this book.

The last item was this month’s book – Inherited by Freedom Matthews which was DEDICATEDΒ to me! Fairyloot stepped up their game yet again and we got signed and dedicated books by the author, as well as a personalised letter explaining their idea for the book and a postcard of the book’s front cover.

20160706_125055.png

 

We also got a little message from BenjaminOfTomes – a booktuber explaining his love for the book, and another nice touch to add to an already awesome box!

Inherited is a book all about pirates and love after a curse from a Sorceress forbids them from loving. The Wilted Rose sails out to find the heirs to the curse in a bid to convince the Sorceress to end it so they can finally love. This book sounds amazing and it is huuuuuge so I cannot wait to get stuck in and immerse myself in the world of pirates!

So there you have it, my unboxing of the absolutely fantastic Fairyloot July box. I hope you love it and if you’re thinking of treating yourself or someone else to a book subscription box, then definitely give Fairyloot a try – you won’t be left disappointed!

Have a wonderful dayΒ β™₯

20160706_125031

 

5 thoughts on “July Fairyloot

  1. I’ve never had a subscription because because they were always in the US but now the UK ones are emerging and Fairyloot is one I desperately want! I can’t afford it at the moment but I really wish I did because this box looks amazing! I’m hoping to get a subscription for my birthday so fingers crossed! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Frostblood, it looks so good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • jcwreads says:

      Definitely go for Fairyloot – you won’t regret it! Also check out MyBookishCrate of TheNerdyBookwormBox (they tend to do 10% off so it’s a little bit cheaper) but it is such a nice treat to give yourself or if you can get someone to get one for you, do! Frostblood looks amazing I’ll read it soon after I’ve finished some books I’ve got on my TBR πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ooo I’ll definitely check some of those out, thank you! I definitely think I’ll treat myself to one of those when I can! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    • jcwreads says:

      Thanks so much and I totally agree with you – it was the best! I thought June looked good but this one was awesome and both books look so good 😊 I can’t wait to read them πŸ’—

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

