June wrap-up

June was a stressful month as I had my second year exams, but I utilised my breaks from revision to read and I finally got round to reading the Grisha trilogy as well as a new discovery.

Books read in June:

  1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (2012) ♥♥♥♥
    Goodreads description here
  2. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo (2013) ♥♥♥
    Goodreads description here
  3. Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo (2014) ♥♥♥♥
    Goodreads description here
  4. Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie (2016) ♥♥♥♥
    Goodreads description here

 

I had seen the Grisha trilogy on many bookstagram accounts and this mysterious character, ‘the Darkling’ was mentioned a lot which prompted me to get the first in the series. I’m glad I discovered this series, the books were all fairly small as well so it didn’t take me long to read through them which suited me and the huge amount of revision I needed to do. I thought the second book let the story down a bit and I found it lacking in that spark I found in the first book, but it picked up again in the third book, enough so for me to want to get Six of Crows – another series written in the same world as the Grisha books but set in a different time and place.

Burning Glass was a book I discovered when a friend of mine sent me a link for ‘which YA fantasy novel to read based on your star sign’ on epicreads. Hers was Burning Glass and it sounded so interesting that I decided to treat myself to it and I bought it in hardback; the book recommended for my star sign sounds cool too and I’ll have to get that at some point. There are quite a few on that list that I want to get, here’s the link if you want to check it out: http://www.epicreads.com/blog/epic-fantasy-book-recommendations-based-on-your-zodiac-sign/

I hope everyone had a lovely June, and if you’re undecided with what books to read next then I would say give any of these books a try!

Have a brilliant day ♥

 

 

Leave a Reply

